How To: Candied Citrus Zest

I love candied citrus zest! It’s an easy way to make a simple sweet impressive. AND it gives you two incredibly delicious and useful products: candy zest and flavored simple syrup! Not many people consider simple syrup a staple – I know I didn’t until culinary school – but now I use it for things like sweetening coffee & tea, mixed drinks, and layer cakes.

This is the kind of zester I would use to make candied lemon zest. It allows you to make long, thin strips of peel. Of course if you don’t have one and don’t want to go buy one, I have used a regular cheese grater on the shredding side – I hope you know what I’m talking about.

I’m not endorsing this OXO product, I’ve never even tried this particular one. I just wanted to show you what it looks like.

  1. Bring 1 cup water and 1 cup sugar to a low boil, allowing all of the sugar to dissolve.
  2. Keep the syrup on low, and add your strips of zest.
  3. Heat for 20 minutes to 1 hour, until the zest becomes soft and almost translucent.
  4. Spread the strips of zest offer a wire cooling rack until they set. You may want to think about how you will want them positioned on your finished product and shape them accordingly. (curled, bent, straight, etc.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

